Elimination Communication Update


We have been actively practicing elimination communication for two weeks. It has been easier and more successful than I hoped. In two weeks we have had a total of two soiled diapers– one that we missed while at home, one that happened while we were out and did not have the potty. We still have wet diapers because we are not actively trying to catch urine. Baby D sits calmly on his potty when he needs it, and fusses if I put him on when he does not need it. this is an aspect of the communication that I did not anticipate, but I am pleased that he can communicate so clearly what he needs and doesn’t need. As soon as he is able to sit unsupported we will use a potty chair instead of the potty bowl. In my opinion EC is totally do-able and perhaps the best parenting decision we have made. If you are considering EC but feeling apprehensive, my advice would be try it– it is easier than it looks.

Baby D in a serious mood wearing a hat his father wore as a baby.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. mom4ever

     /  July 30, 2011

    He is communicating to you about his elimimantion needs! I never thought the words “elimination communication” could go both ways!

    Reply
  2. Hooray for EC success! I hope this isn’t too forward, but I just stumbled onto your blog and feel like maybe we’re twins separated at birth? Ha. Montessori? Baby led weaning? EC? I think I’ll be back 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

