Holy Cow! Are You Due Any Day?


People say a lot of interesting things to pregnant women. I haven’t had many comments, and not one stranger has touched my belly. From what I hear this is a rare situation. I must give off a “leave me alone” vibe. A couple of people have said funny things to me– I haven’t been offended, just amused.

This morning I was taking a walk and a woman who had just come out of her house as I walked by said “Holy cow! Are you due any day?” I said yes, and she seemed to realize that perhaps her choice of words was not the most tactful. She tried to recover by saying “Oh, I couldn’t even tell you were pregnant until you were really close… good luck!”, and then hurrying back into the house. I got a good laugh from that one.

The only other thing someone has said was earlier in my pregnancy. A woman I had not seen in a while took one look at me and said “either you’ve gained A LOT of weight or you’re pregnant!”. A stranger who happened to be nearby got a horrified expression when she heard that. Thankfully I was pregnant and not just fat!

I think a lot of people want to say something when they see a pregnant woman because most everyone likes babies. When the baby is still in utero, though, it can be a little awkward. What is the funniest (or most upsetting) thing someone has said to you about your pregnancy?

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. mom4ever

     /  May 9, 2011

    When I shared my new good news, the baby was immediately touched firmly! Glad it was a friend! And it just became funnier to me when I realized that would never have happened under any other circumstance.

    Reply
  2. A couple weeks ago, a woman in the grocery store exclaimed “You have such a cute belly!” which I thought was really funny at the time… not something you’d normally hear from a stranger! Something that annoyed me was people saying “Oh you’re so small!” when I’d tell them I’m 8/9 months pregnant. According to my Dr. my bump is average sized, thank you! Never thought I’d be offended by being called “small”…

    Reply
    • Isn’t it funny how people like to analyze belly size and make assumptions about the baby? My midwife told me about a mom who hardly even looked pregnant through her whole pregnancy… then had a ten pound baby!

      Reply
  3. I’m another one who never got their belly touched or many comments. I went 10 days over with my LO — there at the end I got a lot of people asking “when’s your due date?” When I said, “oh, 8 days ago” people tended to get wide-eyed and back away! :):)

    Best wishes for your upcoming birth — not long now until you hold your baby in your arms. 🙂

    Reply
  4. And it won’t stop there. I have had complete strangers ask me in waiting rooms (multiple times) if I’m nursing my baby. Somehow when you get pregnant/become a mom your body becomes public property and everyone needs to comment on it.

    Reply
  5. Oh I forgot to mention I had several people ask “Are you sure you aren’t having twins?” or “Do you have gestational diabetes?”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

